Being a mother

A few weeks back I had a small issue with a professor who I felt wasn’t taking into consideration my immense responsibilities at home when he gave me a hard time about completing an out-of-class assignment involving going to a sporting event on campus. I spoke to my advisor about how to confront this professor and to try and get an idea about why he wasn’t cutting me some more slack when I couldn’t go to games because I felt being at home to feed her dinner and for my child’s bedtime was more important.

My advisor looked at me over his glasses and said, “Well, Emma, he has children, and he’s a good dad. But he doesn’t know what it’s like to be a mother.”

I thought that was pretty insightful, and truer than anyone who isn’t a mother could ever know.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Being a mother

  1. sixfordinner

    He seems even more clueless now.

Leave a Reply

